## **Western NSW District**

This Fast Fact clarifies what constitutes Western NSW District as identified in the *Rural Fires Regulation 2002* (RF Regs).

Since the release of *Planning for Bush Fire Protection 2006* (PBP), there have been several additional exclusions from the application of section 100B of the *Rural Fires Act 1997(RF Act)* for a bush fire safety authority. The noted exclusions are listed under clause 46A of the RF Regs and also summarised in Appendix 1 (A1.6) of PBP.

This includes the exclusion of subdivision of land in a Western NSW district from requiring a bush fire safety authority:

- i. subdivision of land for a rural residential purpose in a <u>Western New South Wales</u> <u>district</u>, but only if:
  - a. no lot created by the subdivision is greater than 10 hectares, and
  - b. the bush fire prone land in any lot is less than 10 per cent of the lot, and
  - c. each lot has direct access to an existing public road.

## What is considered a Western NSW district?

Clause 46 of the RF Regs and PBP identify the following weather forecast districts as being "Western New South Wales District" (see Schedule 1 of the RF Regs):

 Upper Western Weather Forecast District

- Lower Western Weather Forecast District
- Riverina Weather Forecast District
- South West Slopes Weather Forecast District
- Central West Plains Weather Forecast District
- Central West Slopes Weather Forecast District
- Central Tablelands Weather Forecast District
- North West Plains Weather Forecast District
- North West Slopes Weather Forecast District

The local government areas (including amalgamations) for the Western NSW District in alphabetical order are:

- Balranald
- Barraba (Amalgamated into Tamworth Region and Gwydir Shire)
- Berrigan
- Bingara (Amalgamated into Gwydir Shire)
- Bland
- Blayney
- Bogan
- Boorowa
- Bourke
- Brewarrina
- Cabonne
- Carrathool
- Central Darling
- Cobar
- Conargo



PREPARE. ACT.SURVIVE. | www.rfs.nsw.gov.au

## **NSW RURAL FIRE SERVICE**

COMMUNITY RESILIENCE FAST FACTS

- Coolah (Amalgamated into Warrumbungle Shire)
- Coolamon
- Coonamble
- Coonabarabran (Amalgamated into Warrumbungle Shire)
- Corowa
- Cowra
- Crookwell (Amalgamated into Upper Lachlan Shire)
- Culcairn (Amalgamated into Greater Hume Shire)
- Cootamundra
- Deniliquin
- Evans (Amalgamated into Oberon and Bathurst Regional)
- Gilgandra
- Griffith
- Gundagai
- Gunnedah
- Harden
- Hay
- Holbrook (Amalgamated into Greater Hume Shire)
- Hume (Amalgamated into Greater Hume Shire)
- Inverell
- Jerilderie
- Junee
- Lachlan
- Leeton
- Lockhart
- Manilla (Amalgamated into Tamworth Regional Shire)
- Merriwa (Amalgamated into Upper Hunter and Mid-Western Regional)
- Moree Plains
- Mudgee (Amalgamated into Mid-Western Regional)

- Mulwaree (Amalgamated into Upper Lachlan and Goulburn Mulwaree)
- Murray
- Murrumbidgee
- Murrurundi (Amalgamated into Upper Hunter and Liverpool Plains Shire)
- Narrabri
- Narrandera
- Narromine
- Nundle (Amalgamated into Liverpool Plains and Tamworth Regional)
- Oberon
- Parkes
- Parry (Amalgamated into Liverpool Plains and Tamworth Regional)
- Quirindi (Amalgamated into Liverpool Plains)
- Rylstone (Amalgamated into Mid-Western Regional and Lithgow City)
- Temora
- Tumbarumba
- Tumut
- Urana
- Wakool
- Walgett
- WarrenWeddin
- Wellington
- Wentworth.
- Windouran.
- Wollondilly
- Yallaroi (Amalgamated into Gwydir Shire)
- Yass
- Young

Disclaimer: Any representation, statement opinion, or advice expressed or implied in this publication is made in good faith on the basis that the State of New South Wales, the NSW Rural Fire Service, its agents and employees are not liable (whether by reason of negligence, lack of care or otherwise) to any person for any damage or loss whatsoever which has occurred or may occur in relation to that person taking or not taking (as the case may be) action in respect of any representation, statement or advice referred to above.

